Littlest (but not so little) Brother’s Peanut Butter Cookies

Let me keep this one short and sweet, just like my youngest brother. He has a fetish for anything peanut-butter related, and actually said to me whilst we were out at the mini-golf yesterday, before I told them about the surprise: ‘Remember those cookies with peanut butter you made for me for my birthday? They were so nice!’ Which was lovely and a good omen for these ones – I heard that they went down well and that my brother wanted to know how they were different from the birthday lot and what ingredients I’d put in. I may have another follower and fellow baking enthusiast soon!

  • 90g crunchy peanut butter (do NOT get the horribly sugary smooth stuff, at least for this recipe. Yes, peanut butter snobbery does have its place)
  • 50g butter
  • 50g caster sugar
  • 45g light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 100g plain flour
  • 10g baking powder (seems like a lot but they won’t rise too much, honest)
  • 1 tsp approx of grated orange zest (optional – I didn’t add this in)

 

Step 1: Cream the peanut butter, sugars and butter together until well combined.

Step 2: Add the egg and beat in well.

Step 3: Sift in the flour and baking powder, and add orange zest is using. Mix til you get a typical cookie dough texture.

Step 4: Using a tablespoon, divide the mixture into even-sized balls on a baking tray lined with baking paper (you can grease it but I always find that cookies especially rarely come off trays as well as they do off paper). Space them quite well apart as they do spread outwards when baking. I got 10 normal sized cookies out of this mixture, Paul Hollywood must like tiny ones as this is his recipe and it says ‘makes 20’!

Step 5: Bake for 25 minutes until set – they will obviously be soft straight out of the oven so do’t leave them in too long. They catch easily around the edges (this is my recurring mistake with cookies) so trust that they will firm up as they cool. Leave them on the trays until cold, then store in an airtight box or tin.

Image

Source: Good Food Channel, ‘Peanut butter cookies’ by Paul Hollywood. Thanks to my peanut butter-loving youngest brother for being so enthusiastic about my baking 🙂

N.B. Paul’s original recipe calls for 45g of smooth peanut butter and 50g chopped unsalted peanuts, but I can’t really see the point of this to be honest, unless you get a less wet dough by using less peanut butter perhaps. I liked it this way anyway, and its less faff and doesn’t encourage the evil of buying smooth peanut butter. As with the flapjack consistency though, its whatever floats your boat.

2 thoughts on “Littlest (but not so little) Brother’s Peanut Butter Cookies

Leave a Reply

