Mum’s Lemon Meringue Pie

Last post today, I promise – and this one is really really short because you already have the recipe in a previous post! Thanks for sticking with me throughout this baking marathon. So, after I made the first pie – that’s lemon meringue attempt #2 – I had almost half the recipe quantity of sweet pastry, lemon curd, and egg whites for meringue left in the fridge – this stuff just will not let me be! A third instalment in the lemon meringue saga was thus on the cards, and I think it was possibly the best one of all, though not without a few flaws of course.

Image

I think I did mention this in my second lemon meringue post, but let me reiterate the importance of cooking the curd right through til its thickened considerably. I didn’t do this enough, hence the soggy bottom. My mum said that when she makes it the curd almost forms a soft ball that can be dropped, rather than poured, onto the pastry after a certain amount of heating, and also that its best to assemble the pie all at once and get it straight into the oven so the layers don’t start to meld into one another. She did say my meringue was perfect (smug face) but some time in the distant future there will be a Lemon Meringue Pie Take #4, and #5, and so on until its FAULTLESS! Perfectionist, me? Not at all. 

And that was the end of the baking fest. But not for long! (to be read in the manner of Bob Hale, for any Horrible Histories fans out there) Keep a weather eye on this patch ‘o blog and the final delicious treat made on that fateful Friday shall be revealed to ye…

2 thoughts on “Mum’s Lemon Meringue Pie

  1. Pingback: Lemon Meringue Pie #eyeCandySorted | Musings of a Mild Mannered Man

Leave a Reply

