The Great Friday Bake-Fest!

 

My eldest brother is currently doing the Open Day rounds, visiting such lucky universities as have made it onto his shortlist of potentials to apply to (I suddenly feel so old and scarily close to becoming a real grown-up person – gulp). My uni was one of the chosen five, which is great because I genuinely think it is a fantastic place to get a degree, and it also meant that my mum could foist the two younger siblings off on me, as the handy resident babysitter, for the day. So they all arrived on Saturday horribly early, at 10am (late mornings, or even early afternoons if I’m feeling particularly sloth-like, are the order of the day until lectures kick in) and the non-open dayers headed out for pirate-themed mini golf and a Subway lunch. It was great; my boyfriend joined us much to his credit (it meant missing the football) and we had loads of fun spending time with the boys. What made it even nicer was that I had a surprise for everyone – 50 points if you can guess what form these surprise gifts took. Flapjack! And cookies! And brownies! And – wait for it – yet another lemon meringue pie! I spent all day in the kitchen the day before they came (that sounds like it was a chore; not in the slightest – I had my musicals playlist going and the oven was warming up the room very cosily whilst it poured with rain outside) and had an absolute baking fest. The recipes are in the following posts, these are all fairly easy and not very time-consuming so if you find yourself stuck inside on a rainy day with friends/relatives/housemates/hungry strangers arriving imminently…go bake!  

Image   

Leave a Reply

