Toffee Frosting

As I acknowledged in my Birthday Time! post a couple days ago, my housemate’s toffee frosting for our Banoffee Cupcakes was so good I felt I should share the recipe for the betterment of bakers everywhere. It has a lovely smooth texture; because you melt the sugar in the butter there’s no grainyness. It’s not really pipeable as buttercream usually is, but a teaspoon spread on top of cupcakes looks just as good, as it has quite a shiny, inviting finish. Other things I think it would go really well with are chocolate cupcakes, vanilla or chocolate cakes, carrot cake perhaps…as I always say, be creative! This frosting should keep well in the fridge, in an airtight container.

For the ‘toffee’

  • 50g soft dark brown sugar
  • 50g unsalted butter
  • 2 tbsp milk

For the buttercream

  • 75g butter
  • 150g icing sugar

Step 1: Make the ‘toffee’. Melt the butter and sugar together in a pan slowly over a low heat. Remove from the heat and add the milk.

Step 2: Make the buttercream. Beat the butter and icing sugar together in a bowl til light and fluffy.

Step 3: Mix the toffee part into the buttercream until the colour is consistent and there are no lumps.

Done! Easy peasy. Thanks to my housemate for giving me the recipe. Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

