Fruit ‘n’ Oat Cookies

So, I had some fruit to use up this weekend – a banana and some Gala apples which I’m not particularly fond of to eat raw – and was determined to stay away from my go-to using up fruit recipe; banana cake. So I made banana cookies! With apple. And oats. And cinnamon, and nutmeg…all of these ingredients sounded a promising combination to me, so I was hoping when I put them together in dough form they would come out as little baked rounds of gooey, sweet but slightly spiced deliciousness. And I’m pleased to report that they pretty much did. They have quite a soft crumb (may add slightly more flour next time) and spread quite a bit on the trays, but I was really pleased with the texture – the banana kind of melts and goes gooey but not runny, whereas the apple holds its shape and has a bit of resistance still when you bite into it. The oats add a nice healthy chewiness too, and if you wanted to counteract that completely I think sprinkling granulated brown sugar on top of these before they’re baked would be fantastic.

It felt like the first time I’d baked in ages when I made these last night; I think its because I’m so busy again and the days are so full I forget what I’ve done and when. It was good to get round to making these, and to experiment a bit and have that anticipation when they’re in the oven and cooling when there is a possibility that they might actually taste like the worst thing you’ve ever made. Its nice when that doesn’t happen 🙂 Think I will definitely be making these again, leftover fruit recipes have a new addition to their collection!

Ingredients

  • 125g butter
  • 100g soft light brown sugar
  • 125g caster sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 225g self-raising flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 banana
  • 1 apple
  • good pinch of cinnamon 
  • 1/4 (approx, or to taste) grated nutmeg bulb (is that what you call them? bulbs? feel free to comment and correct me if not!)

 

Step 1: Cream the butter with both types of sugar. Gradually add the beaten egg, plus the vanilla extract, and mix well. 

Step 2: Sift in the flour and cinnamon, add the salt and grate in the nutmeg. Mix to form a softish dough, scraping all the flour from the bottom of the bowl and incorporating. Now chop up your banana and apple into small cubes – you want bitesize chunks so they’re easy and enjoyable to eat – and fold carefully into the cookie dough. Use a metal spoon and go slowly, trying not to mash up the banana which is easy to do as you’re using fruit slightly past its best so softer than normal.

Step 3: Dollop onto a lined or greased baking tray in tablespoon-sized blobs, spaced well apart to allow room for them to spread, and bake for around 15 minutes at 180C/Gas Mark 4.

Step 4: Important!!! Let the cookies cool on the trays before you move them to a wire cooling rack, otherwise they will fall apart. Cool completely – or eat warm if you fancy it – and store in an airtight tin. Very satisfying and not so rich as a big double chocolate cookie that I’m so fond of. Means you can eat more of these! Enjoy 🙂

Image

Source: BBC Good Food, ‘Millie’s Cookies recipe’ (I’ve never had a Millie’s cookie so can’t say whether they do resemble them or not, but anyway I tweaked the recipe a bit and they’ve got fruit in and stuff so they’re better 😉 ).  

Leave a Reply

