Happy Halloween!

Image

 

A hand-carved ‘vampire spider’ pumpkin; a product of a Halloween at home followed by a lovely weekend with my family. Halloween, Bonfire Night and my oldest brother’s birthday all kind of coincided recently, plus it was my dad’s birthday not so long ago, which was fantastic as it meant I could go home from uni for a short Thursday to Sunday stint (not that I wouldn’t love to stay longer but term time doesn’t allow that!) and see my whole family, celebrate two holidays with them all, and spend time relaxing and generally enjoying the luxury of being home – nothing else, even my lovely student house this year, quite compares as yet! I even got some work done whilst I was away, so it was a very satisfying few days all round. 

I feel I’ve been neglectful of the blog lately; I kept meaning to post when I was at home, and in fact baked twice the week before but, condemnably, I didn’t make the writing happen. Before you all turn away from your screens in disgust, this does mean that you’ll be getting a double-whammy of recipes right now (or right now then in the morning, depending on how rapidly this warm blanket and hot chocolate make me sleepy). How exciting! The first post is pumpkin-based, because if you’re going to carve out a pumpkin for Halloween, don’t throw away all the good stuff inside it! The innards of the vampire-spider went towards creating these two delicious tricky treats…  

Leave a Reply

